Process, Criteria, & Timeline

Timeline for Citizen Honors

Open nominations Tuesday, October 1, 2013
Closed nominations Friday, January 10, 2014
Honorees honored Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Nomination Criteria

WHO CAN NOMINATE: Anyone who is aware of a fellow citizen, neighbor, co-worker, or ordinary American, a hero among us, who without the expectation of fame or reward, has placed others before self in some extraordinary way.

WHO CAN BE NOMINATED: Any United States civilian who through a singular act of extraordinary heroism, or through a prolonged series of selfless acts, clearly demonstrated a willingness to place his or her own life at risk for others. In all cases, the actions being honored must epitomize the concept of “service above self” and must be performed “above and beyond” one’s professional or vocational area of responsibility or conduct.

Please note: nominees who are deceased are eligible. Nominees must be a U.S. citizen. Nominees must be 18 or older.  A singular act of heroism must have occurred within the last three years. A series of acts of long-term selfless service must have been ongoing within the last three years.


The nomination deadline has passed for the 2014 Citizen Honors awards. Please check back soon to learn more about the award finalists.


Citizen Honors Selection Process

The Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation will form a panel, which will include Medal of Honor recipient representation, that will consider all nominations and select 20 national finalists. From among those finalists, a second panel of Medal of Honor recipients will select three individuals to receive Citizen Honors at a ceremony on Tuesday, March 25, 2014 to be held at Arlington Cemetery near the Tomb of the Unknowns at Arlington Cemetery in Arlington, VA.